About Us

Meet Our Teen Librarians!

Looking for more book suggestions, programs, or opportunities to get involved at the Library? Then meet your local branch's teen librarian. Check out the list below to see what they like to read and their superpower of choice, and then stop by your branch to say hi!

Anderson Branch
John Lortie email: john.lortie@cincinnatilibrary.org  
Favorite books: The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by J.K. Rowling, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, and Where Things Come Back by John Corey Whaley
Favorite authors: J.R.R. Tolkien, John Corey Whaley, Rainbow Rowell, and Brian Jacques 
Superpower: Spider-sense would be pretty cool to avoid accidents before they happen!

Avondale Branch
Check back soon!

Blue Ash Branch
Christopher Smith email: christopher.smith@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Sandman by Neil Gaiman, Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison, The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
Favorite authors: Ursula K. Le Guin, Kim Stanley Robinson, Neal Shusterman 
Superpower: Wolverine’s mutant healing factor. It’s so awesome.

Bond Hill Branch
Carolyn McCune email: carolyn.mccune@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien, Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, The Death Gate Cycle by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman, The Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
Favorite authors: Mercedes Lackey, Margaret Atwood, Ursula K. Le Guin, Robin Hobb
Superpower: Omnilingualism: the power to instantly speak and understand any language fluently…and shape-shifting would be cool too!

Bond Hill Branch
Megan Hartley email: megan.hartley@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas, The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan and The Poet X by Emily Acevedo
Favorite authors: Laurie Halse Anderson, John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and- of course- J.K. Rowling
Superpower: Invisibility

Cheviot Branch
Cara Williams email: cara.williams@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: the Georgia Nicholson series, Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie, and Skulduggery Pleasant
Favorite authors: E.D. Baker and Ally Carter
Superpower: Definitely be Teleportation. That way I could sleep in longer and still get where I need to go!

Clifton Branch
Elizabeth Weigand email: elizabeth.weigand@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Little Bee by Chris Cleave, The Help by Kathryn Stockett, and The Road by Cormac McCarthy   
Superpower: I would choose Time Travel as my superpower so I could go back in time and make the most of every experience in life!

College Hill Branch
Karla Moeller email: karla.moeller@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys and The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
Favorite authors: Ruta Sepetys, Mary Balogh, and Marissa Meyer
Superpower: ability to disappear into books!

Corryville Branch
Check back soon!

Covedale Branch
Amy Perry email: amy.perry@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Alice series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
Favorite author: Sarah Dessen
Superpower: Total recall, so when a patron says “I don’t remember the title, but it’s got a blue cover, with green lettering”, I can find the book in a flash!

Deer Park Branch
Check back soon!

Delhi Township Branch
Jordan Socwell email: jordan.socwell@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie, Rat Queens by Kurtis Wiebe, The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson 
Favorite authors: China Mieville, CJ Cherryh, Haruki Murakami
Superpower: Precognition so I could avoid making terrible decisions. And win the lottery.

Elmwood Place Branch
Leeann McNabb email: leeann.mcnabb@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, The Last Kingdom, The Fellowship of the Ring, The Naming of the Dead, and Ms. Marvel (v. 01)
Favorite authors: Ian Rankin and J. K. Rowling
Superpower: cat magnet. 

Forest Park Branch
Michelle Kanis email: michelle.kanis@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite authors: Right now I'm enjoying Cassandra Clare's books.  My all-time favorite author is Andre Norton-she knew how to write young adult books before the rest figured it out.
Superpower: If I had one super power it would be telekinesis-the ability to move objects with the mind-I would always be first in line!

Green Township Branch
Cheryl Selby email: cheryl.selby@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite authors:  Wow! There are so many... Lately I've been reading quite a few things from David Lubar & Cassandra Clare.
Superpower: To have superhuman strength like Wonder Woman!

Greenhills Branch
Jenny Weikert email: jennifer.weikert@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
Superpower: I want stretchy arms to reach things without having to move.

Groesbeck Branch
Check back soon!

Harrison Branch
Damian Kristof email: damian.kristof@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Enemy series by Charlie Higson, the Ashfall series by Mike Mullin; pretty much every dystopian/apocalyptic book out there.
Favorite authors: Rick Yancey, Neal Shusterman, George Orwell, Scott Westerfeld, Patrick Ness, etc. 
Superpower: The ability to control time and space. That way, not only could I time travel to points of historical interest and intrigue, (find out the truth about the grassy knoll) but I could also slow down or pause time to make the most of every day.

Hyde Park Branch
Scott Moore email: scott.moore@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: Hyperion by Dan Simmons 
Favorite author: David Brin
Superpower: Power: Postcognition.  The ability to look into the past the way a precog foretells the future.  Being overly curious, unsolvable mysteries of the past could finally be solved!

Loveland Branch
Amy Pyle email: amy.pyle@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks
Favorite author: Geraldine Brooks
Superpower: To make fictional characters become alive

Madeira Branch
Bess Sabransky email: bess.sabransky@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury  
Favorite authors: Gary D. Schmidt, Laini Taylor, Maggie Stiefvater
Superpower: Invisibility! (Isn’t that what all closet introverts want?)

Madisonville Branch
Mari Randolph email: mari.randolph@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite author: Maggie Stievater.
Favorite books: I can’t get enough of the Dystopian type books, lately I love Ashes by Ilsa Blick.
Superpower: If I could have a super power it would be teleportation. I could go to Japan on my lunch break to get supplies for the Anime Club.

Mariemont Branch
Cathy Plichta email: cathy.plichta@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I like it because it has quirky characters and makes me laugh out loud.
Favorite author: Stephenie Meyer of Twilight fame, and I really want her to get busy writing more books!
Superpower: The superpower I would wish for is Invisibility, which I would use when it's time to do the laundry at my house!

Miami Township Branch
Carrie Vale email: carrie.vale@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: It's very difficult to pick a favorite book. I love them all!
Favorite author: John Green  
Superpower: Time travel

Monfort Heights Branch
Lauren Smallwood email: lauren.smallwood@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner, An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling, Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds, Midnight at the Electric by Jodi Lynn Anderson, Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram
Favorite authors: Jane Austen, Sabaa Tahir, Jeff Zentner, Jason Reynolds   
Superpower: To be fluent in every language!  

Mt. Healthy Branch
Sarah Rust email: sarah.rust@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, A Million Junes by Emily Henry, The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman, The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner
Favorite authors: Jason Reynolds, Sharon Creech, E.L. Konigsburg, and Jane Austen
Superpower: Teleportation. I’d love to be able to travel the world, see my favorite band, and sleep in my own bed, all in the same day!

Mt. Washington Branch
Check back soon!

North Central Branch
Krista Smith email: krista.smith@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Giver by Lois Lowry, Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut, Just Listen by Sarah Dessen, and Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger 
Favorite authors: Lois Lowry, Sarah Dessen, and Roald Dahl
Superpower: The ability to talk to animals! My puppy Max is my best friend and I would love to know what he’s thinking.

Northside Branch
Sarah Schellenger email: sarah.schellenger@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Sookie Stackhouse series. 
Superpower:Invisibility so that I can have more time to read in peace.

Norwood Branch
Cate Newmark-Weishan email: cate.newmark-weishan@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley Doyle, A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro, and Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Favorite authors: Jane Austen, Gail Simone, Roald Dahl, Nina LaCour
Superpower: Time travel!

Oakley Branch
Dawn McMillan email: dawn.mcmillan@cincinnatilibrary.org  
Favorite books: Every Day, Looking for Alaska, Every Exquisite Thing, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Perks of Being a Wallflower & Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland
Favorite authors: Matthew Quick, John Green, J.K. Rowling, David Levithan, Carolyn Mackler and Gary Paulson 
Superpower: Dimensional Travel and telepathy  

Pleasant Ridge Branch
Amanda Ulrich email: amanda.ulrich@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: I like romantic fiction with a little bit a sadness mixed in. Some favorites are Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn and Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.
Favorite authors: Maureen Johnson, Lauren Oliver, and Susane Colasanti
Superpower: Ability to stop time and freeze everyone around me.

Pleasant Ridge Branch
Ashley Eugair email: karen.eugair@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Pride and Prejudice, The Raven Cycle, Illuminae Files, and Harry Potter
Favorite authors: Jane Austen and Maggie Stiefvater
Superpower: Ability to multiply myself so I could be everywhere! It would make multitasking a whole lot easier

Price Hill Branch
Victoria Ritchie email: victoria.ritchie@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, The Moorchild by Eloise McGraw, The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner, The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
Favorite authors: Jeff Zentner, Laurie Halse Anderson, Erin Entrada Kelly, Gail Simone, Rebecca Stead
Superpower: Definitely flying- it's not the most practical but it sure would be fun!

Reading Branch
Maggi Jackson email: maggi.jackson@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Monstrumologist by Rick Yancy, Ender’s Game & Seventh Son by O. S. Card, Skin Hunger by Kathleen Duey
Favorite authors: Stephen King, Neal Shusterman, Robert Jordan, Barry Lyga
Superpower: The ability to read minds… you know, to keep people honest.

Sharonville Branch
Siobhan Lehotta email: siobhan.lehotta@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite Book: I would say The Odyssey by Homer because there’s a bit of something in it for everyone, but my favorite book is usually what I’m currently reading.
Favorite Author: It really depends on my mood!
Superpower of Choice: I’d have to go with either Time Travel or Teleportation.  If it’s possible, I’ll take both!

St. Bernard Branch
Mike Fair email: mike.fair@cincinnatilibrary.org 
Favorite books: The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch, You Killed Wesley Payne by Sean Beadoin, & Will Not Atttend: Lively Stories of Detachment and Isolation by Adam Resnick   
Favorite authors: Kurt Vonnegut, Neal Pollack, & Cormac McCarthy
Superpower: It would be pretty cool to communicate with animals! 

Symmes Township Branch
Melissa Schott email: melissa.schott@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite author: Sarah Dessen. I've read everything she has written.
Superpower: My superpower would be the ability to teleport myself to any location. Because I'm terrified to fly but I love to travel to new locations!

TeenSpot
Emma Willig email: emma.willig@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros, The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Tale of the Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo, Ronit and Jamil by Pamela L. Laskin, The Giver by Lois Lowry, The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo, and the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling.
Superpower: Teleportation

TeenSpot

Sarah Ryan email: sarah.ryan@cincinnatilibrary.org 

Favorite books: Grasshopper JungleThe DivinersIlluminaeDaughter of Smoke & BoneThe Raven BoysChallenger DeepSaga of the Swamp ThingPreacherThe Long HalloweenNimona 

Favorite authors: Andrew Smith, Libba Bray, Alan Moore, Amie Kaufman, Laini Taylor, Maggie Stiefvater
Superpower: elemental manipulation control and rapid intergalactic-interdimensional travel

TeenSpot
Sam Bloom email: sam.bloom@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: His Dark MaterialsI trilogy by Philip Pullman, Queen's Thief series by Megan Whalen Turner, The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, Gaither Sisters trilogy by Rita Williams-Garcia, March trilogy by John Lewis, Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson, Piecing Me Together by Renee Watson, The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds, The Watsons Go To Birmingham, 1963 by Christopher Paul Curtis, and anything illustrated by Kadir Nelson, Yuyi Morales, Christian Robinson, Ekua Holmes, R. Gregory Christie
Favorite authors: Jacqueline Woodson, Megan Whalen Turner, Rita Williams-Garcia, Jason Reynolds, Candace Fleming, and I try to avoid dead white guys but Tolkien is pretty great!
Superpower: the ability to eat as much black licorice, candy corn, Peeps, circus peanuts (yes, I like weird candy, you want to talk about it?!), Reese's cups, Milk Duds, and jelly beans as I want without getting sick/passing out

TeenSpot
Marissa Clardy email: marissa.clardy@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Kiesha’ra series by Amelia Atwater Rhodes, The Chronicles of Faerie by O.R. Melling, The Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr, The Song of the Lioness quartet by Tamora Pierce, The Seven Kingdoms trilogy by Kristin Cashore, Seven Tears into the Sea by Terri Farley, The Dublin Murder Squad series by Tana French, The Green Rider series by Kristen Britain, Between the World and Me by Ta Nehisi Coates, The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins, The Other Side by Jacqueline Woodson, Beauty and the Beast by Robert Sabuda, Little Red Riding Hood by Jerry Pinkney, My People by Langston Hughes and Charles R. Smith Jr., The Goblin and the Empty Chair by Mem Fox and Leo and Diane Dillon, Dreamers by Yuyi Morales, Hershel and the Hanukkah Goblins by Eric Kimmel and Trina Schart Hyman, Prince and Knight by Daniel Haack, The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare, Seraphina and Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman, The River King, Turtle Moon, and Second Nature by Alice Hoffman, Uprooted by Namoi Novik, This is the Story of a Happy Marriage by Ann Patchett, and Leaves by Janet Lawler. To name a few. Don’t you wish you hadn’t asked? 
Favorite authors: The authors listed above
Superpower: Awkwardness.

Walnut Hills Branch
Allison Jacobs email: allison.jacobs@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: A Wrinkle in Time, Harry Potter series, Anne of Green Gables series, Pride and Prejudice, The Diviners series, Skulduggery Pleasant series, and The Chronicles of Kazam series. 
Favorite authors: J.K. Rowling, Libba Bray, Derek Landy, Madeline L'Engle, Gary Schmidt, and Meg Cabot. 
Superpower: Invisibility, flying, super strength, and super kindness (yep, that's definitely more than one superpower!) 

West End Branch

Check back soon!

Westwood Branch
Angie Lewis email: angie.lewis@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Unwind by Neal Shusterman, Dragon of the Lost Sea by Lawrence Yep, and Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.
Favorite authors:  Dave Barry, Brom, Adam Rex, and Mercedes Lackey
Superpower: Flight!

Wyoming Branch
Check back soon!

new on flickr
More Photos >>
galleries
teen drawing Check out our collection of teen artwork! You can submit your own.
More galleries
feedback
Do you have suggestions to make Teenspace better? Let us know!