About Us

Meet Our Teen Librarians!

Looking for more book suggestions, programs, or opportunities to get involved at the Library? Then meet your local branch's teen librarian. Check out the list below to see what they like to read and their superpower of choice, and then stop by your branch to say hi!

Anderson Branch
Ann Conway email: ann.conway@cincinnatilibrary.org 
Favorite book: Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Favorite authors: Joan Bauer & Michael Scott
Superpower: To be in two places at once- one would definitely be the beach

Avondale Branch
Cate Malone email: cate.malone@cincinnatilibrary.org  
Favorite book: The Giver by Lois Lowry – I read it every couple years and love it more each time.
Favorite authors: Curtis Sittenfeld, Jeannette Walls, Laurie Halse Anderson, Roald Dahl, Beverly Cleary  
Superpower: To slow down time or create extra hours in the day

Blue Ash Branch
Amanda Haverland email: amanda.haverland@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Mortal Instruments series, anything with vampires in it, especially Anne Rice's The Vampire Chronicles
Favorite authors: Cassandra Clare, Libba Bray, Charlaine Harris
Superpower: The ability to fly.

Bond Hill Branch
Alexis Greenward email: alexis.greenward@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak 
Superpwoer: Ability to travel through space and time to other worlds. It would be amazing to explore what else it out there. I would totally visit Thor on Asgard.

Cheviot Branch
Cara Williams email: cara.williams@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: the Georgia Nicholson series, Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie, and Skulduggery Pleasant
Favorite authors: E.D. Baker and Ally Carter
Superpower: Definitely be Teleportation. That way I could sleep in longer and still get where I need to go!

Clifton Branch
Elizabeth Weigand email: elizabeth.weigand@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Little Bee by Chris Cleave, The Help by Kathryn Stockett, and The Road by Cormac McCarthy   
Superpower: I would choose Time Travel as my superpower so I could go back in time and make the most of every experience in life!

College Hill Branch
Michelle Kanis email: michelle.kanis@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite authors: Right now I'm enjoying Cassandra Clare's books.  My all-time favorite author is Andre Norton-she knew how to write young adult books before the rest figured it out.
Superpower: If I had one super power it would be telekinesis-the ability to move objects with the mind-I would always be first in line!

Corryville Branch
Jill Beitz email: jill.beitz@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell, Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett and Native Tongue by Carl Hiaasen
Superpower: If I could have a superpower, it would be to go back in time and slow down and appreciate those experiences that I didn’t appreciate enough the first time.  Also, to get my dog to come when I call.

Covedale Branch
Amy Perry email: amy.perry@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Alice series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
Favorite author: Sarah Dessen
Superpower: Total recall, so when a patron says “I don’t remember the title, but it’s got a blue cover, with green lettering”, I can find the book in a flash!

Deer Park Branch
Sagoree Chaterjee email: sagoree.chaterjee@cincinnatilibrary.org 
Favorite books: Pride and Prejudice and Kite Runner
Favorite authors: Khaled Hosseini, John Grisham, Louisa May Alcott, Charles Dickens, and Jhumpa Lahiri
Superpower: Female version of Professor X (Professor YL perhaps. YPW stands for Young Powerful Woman)

Delhi Township Branch
Betty Meyer email: betty.meyer@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: Life As We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer
Favorite author: Sarah Dessen
Superpower: To be able to read minds so I would know what kind of books to recommend to teens.

Elmwood Place Branch
Debby Carrico email: debby.carrico@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite authors: It depends on the mood! Neil Gaiman and J.K. Rowling right now.
Superpower: My super power would be healing physical, mental, and relationship issues. There is far too much pain in the world.

Forest Park Branch
Sarah Howison email: sarah.howison@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle, Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Favorite authors: Neil Gaiman, Tamora Pierce, John Green, J.R.R. Tolkien 
Superpower: The Force, of course! I promise I’ll only use it for good…

Green Township Branch
Cheryl Selby email: cheryl.selby@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite authors:  Wow! There are so many...Lately I've been reading quite a few things from David Lubar & Cassandra Clare.
Superpower: To have superhuman strength like Wonder Woman!

Greenhills Branch
Jenny Weikert email: jennifer.weikert@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien
Superpower: I want stretchy arms to reach things without having to move.

Groesbeck Branch
Emily Burkot email: emily.burkot@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books:
Favorite authors:
Superpower:  

Harrison Branch
Damian Kristof email: damian.kristof@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Enemy series by Charlie Higson, the Ashfall series by Mike Mullin; pretty much every dystopian/apocalyptic book out there.
Favorite authors: Rick Yancey, Neal Shusterman, George Orwell, Scott Westerfeld, Patrick Ness, etc. 
Superpower: The ability to control time and space. That way, not only could I time travel to points of historical interest and intrigue, (find out the truth about the grassy knoll) but I could also slow down or pause time to make the most of every day.

Hyde Park Branch
Scott Moore email: scott.moore@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: Hyperion by Dan Simmons 
Favorite author: David Brin
Superpower: Power: Postcognition.  The ability to look into the past the way a precog foretells the future.  Being overly curious, unsolvable mysteries of the past could finally be solved!

Loveland Branch
Amy Pyle email: amy.pyle@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks
Favorite author: Geraldine Brooks
Superpower: To make fictional characters become alive

Madeira Branch
Bess Sabransky email: bess.sabransky@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite boosk: The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury  
Favorite authors: Gary D. Schmidt, Laini Taylor, Maggie Stiefvater
Superpower: Invisibility! (Isn’t that what all closet introverts want?)

Madisonville Branch
Mari Randolph email: mari.randolph@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite author: I love author Maggie Stievater.
Favorite book: I can’t get enough of the Dystopian type books, lately I love Ashes by Ilsa Blick.
Superpower: If I could have a super power it would be teleportation. I could go to Japan on my lunch break to get supplies for the Anime Club.

Mariemont Branch
Cathy Plichta email: cathy.plichta@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I like it because it has quirky characters and makes me laugh out loud.
Favorite author: Stephenie Meyer of Twilight fame, and I really want her to get busy writing more books!
Superpower: The superpower I would wish for is Invisibility, which I would use when it's time to do the laundry at my house!

Miami Township Branch
Carrie Vale email: carrie.vale@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: It's very difficult to pick a favorite book. I love them all!
Favorite author: John Green  
Superpower: Time travel.

Monfort Heights Branch
Lesleigh Chumbley email: lesleigh.chumbley@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter, Enchantment by Orson Scott Card, Enclave by Ann Aguirre, The Giver by Lois Lowry
Favorite authors: Ann Aguirre, C.C. Hunter, and Patrick Carman   
Superpower: I have always wanted to be Rouge from X-men so I would want her ability to absorb everyone else’s superpowers and then obtain her power of flight, super strength and near invulnerability!

Mt. Healthy Branch
Matthew Williams email: matthew.williams@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Perks of Being a Wallflower by Steven Chbosky and The Book Thief by Mark Zusak 
Favorite authors: David Levithan, Meg Rosoff, Patti Smith
Superpower: Invisibility.  One could accomplish a lot while invisible.

Mt. Washington Branch
Ella Mulford-Chinn email: ella.mulford-chinn@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Roll of Thunder Hear My Cry, Rebecca, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, The Face on the Milk Carton, Forever, Perks of Being a Wallflower, and Flowers for Algernon
Favorite authors: Judy Bloom, Meg Cabot, and Louis Sachar  
Superpower: If I had a super power it would be the ability to fly because I am deathly afraid of flying in an airplane!

North Central Branch
Elizabeth Hartlaub email: elizabeth.hartlaub@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite author: Holly Black
Superpower: If I could have any superpower it would be shape-shifting.

Northside Branch
Sarah Schellenger email: sarah.schellenger@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: The Sookie Stackhouse series. 
Superpower:Invisibility so that I can have more time to read in peace.

Norwood Branch
Virginia Eshleman email: virginia.eshleman@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Giver, Sabriel, Zel, The Graveyard Book
Favorite authors: Garth Nix, J. R. R Tolkien, Ursula Le Guin, Neil Gaiman, Donna Jo Napoli
Superpwer: Firepower

Oakley Branch
Dawn McMillan email: dawn.mcmillan@cincinnatilibrary.org  
Favorite book: The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice
Favorite author: John Green, Anne Rice, M.T. Anderson, and Susan Beth Pfeffer
Superpower: I would choose Professor Xavier’s telepathic powers!   

Pleasant Ridge Branch
Amanda Ulrich email: amanda.ulrich@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: I like romantic fiction with a little bit a sadness mixed in. Some favorites are Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn and Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson.
Favorite authors: Maureen Johnson, Lauren Oliver, and Susane Colasanti
Superpower: Ability to stop time and freeze everyone around me.

Price Hill Branch
Megan Brandmaier email: megan.brandmaier@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: It’s way too hard to choose, but I love it when I occasionally fall into a book that is so good I am no longer aware of my surroundings while reading it
Favorite author: Stephen King (especially his classic stuff), Laurie Halse Anderson, Robert Cormier, Gail Carson Levine
Superpower: Time travel.

Reading Branch
Liz Anderson email: liz.anderson@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite book: 11/22/63: a Novel by Stephen King   
Favorite author: Barbara Kingsolver
Superpower: Speed reading!

Sharonville Branch
Siobhan Lehotta email: siobhan.lehotta@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite Book: I would say The Odyssey by Homer because there’s a bit of something in it for everyone, but my favorite book is usually what I’m currently reading.
Favorite Author: It really depends on my mood!
Superpower of Choice: I’d have to go with either Time Travel or Teleportation.  If it’s possible, I’ll take both!

St. Bernard Branch
Katheryn Toren-Jones email: katheryn.toren-jones@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books:
Favorite authors:
Superpower: 

Symmes Township Branch
Melissa Schott email: melissa.schott@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite author: Sarah Dessen. I've read everything she has written, except for her newest which I am on the waiting list for.
Superpower: My superpower would be the ability to teleport myself to any location. Because I'm terrified to fly but I love to travel to new locations!

TeenSpot
Jennifer Korn email: jennifer.korn@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak, Shift by Jennifer Bradbury, and Into the Wild by John Krakauer   
Favorite authors: Neil Gaiman, Matt de la Pena, Melina Marchetta
Superpower: I would love to be able to teleport so I could travel the world quickly, easily, and cheaply!

TeenSpot
Megan Whitt email: megan.whitt@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Surfacing by Margaret Atwood, The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien and The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle
Favorite authors: Margaret Atwood, Michael Pollan, Neil Gaimen, & Barbara Kingsolver
Superpower: Omniscience because I like to be in the know.

TeenSpot
Sarah Rust email: sarah.rust@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Looking for Alaska by John Green, The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen, and Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
Favorite authors: Sharon Creech, E.L. Konigsburg, and Jane Austen
Superpower: Teleportation. I’d love to be able to travel the world, see my favorite band, and sleep in my own bed, all in the same day!

TeenSpot
Jami Thompson email: jami.thompson@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Sandman series by Neil Gaiman, Graceling by Kristin Cashore, Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky, The Boy Detective Fails by Joe Meno, Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block
Favorite authors: Libba Bray, Joe Hill, Holly Black, Melinda Lo, David Levithan
Superpower: Some kind of restorative power to heal myself and others when hurt -  physically, mentally, and/or emotionally

Walnut Hills Branch
Kate Kraus email: kate.kraus@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak, How We Live Now by Meg Rosoff, and Peeps by Scott Westerfeld 
Favorite authors: David Mitchell and Haruki Murakami
Superpower: The ability to clone myself

West End Branch
Patty Peterson email: patty.peterson@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books:
Favorite authors:
Superpower: 

Westwood Branch
Angie Lewis email: angie.lewis@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: Unwind by Neal Shusterman, Dragon of the Lost Sea by Lawrence Yep, and Ready Player One by Ernest Cline.
Favorite author:  Dave Barry, Brom, Adam Rex, and Mercedes Lackey
Superpower: Flight!

Wyoming Branch
Terry Barnum email: terry.barnum@cincinnatilibrary.org
Favorite books: The Road by Cormac McCarthy, Battle Royale by Koshun Takami, and the Harry Potter series.
Favorite authors: J.K. Rowling, George R. R. Martin, and Z.A. Recht
Superpower: The ability to breathe under water because I am a horrible swimmer.

new on flickr
More Photos >>
galleries
teen drawing Check out our collection of teen artwork! You can submit your own.
More galleries
feedback
Do you have suggestions to make Teenspace better? Let us know!